MSBuild, White and nunit-console - Long first test time

Dec 22, 2009 at 4:31 PM

I am using VS2010 Beta 2, White .19 and NUnit on Windows 7 Ultimate to test a WPF application.

I have a test project with four tests. If I use nunit-console from a command window the tests run as expected (as expected meaning the timings seem very much the same as using or the NUnit gui to run the tests - I have been using these tests for several months) - here is my command line

..\support\NUnit\nunit-console bin\Debug\power_calculator_ui_wpf_acceptance_tests.dll

and for comparison to the results below here are the timings from the results file:

<test-case name="power_calculator_ui_wpf_acceptance_tests.power_calculator_screen_tests.power_test_case_one" executed="True" success="True" time="5.736" asserts="1" />
<test-case name="power_calculator_ui_wpf_acceptance_tests.power_calculator_screen_tests.power_test_case_two" executed="True" success="True" time="4.141" asserts="1" />
<test-case name="power_calculator_ui_wpf_acceptance_tests.power_calculator_screen_tests.sample_size_test_case_one" executed="True" success="True" time="5.816" asserts="1" />
<test-case name="power_calculator_ui_wpf_acceptance_tests.power_calculator_screen_tests.sample_size_test_case_two" executed="True" success="True" time="4.347" asserts="1" />

I recently wanted to integrate this test run into my project build so I added the following to my Project file:

<Target Name="AfterBuild">
    <Exec Command='..\..\..\support\NUnit\nunit-console.exe power_calculator_ui_wpf_acceptance_tests.dll' WorkingDirectory='bin\Debug\'>