UIItem Identification: AutomationId & Un-managed code

Nov 24, 2009 at 9:33 PM

I'm new to this so I may ask something trivial.

In the documentation: http://white.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=UIItem%20Identification&referringTitle=Home

Button button = window.Get<Button>("btnOK"); //default search mechanism is by automation id
button = window.Get<Button>(SearchCriteria.ByAutomationId("btnOK")); // same as above

But when I play with the Windows calculator (the "7" button has the AutomationId = 131 and its name is "7") then it is not the same:

// Button button7 = calcWindow.Get<Button>("131"); Does not work because it is not using the AutoId but name

Button button7c = calcWindow.Get<Button>("7"); // That works <font size="2">

</font>

Button button7b = calcWindow.Get<Button>(White.Core.UIItems.Finders.SearchCriteria.ByAutomationId("131")); // same as above

Does that mean that for un-managed code the default is to identify controls by text (name in UIA terminology) even if these controls have an automationID?

Thanks,

Christian

Coordinator
Nov 29, 2009 at 5:45 AM
>> Does that mean that for un-managed code the default is to identify controls by text (name in UIA terminology) even if these controls have an automationID? Thats true and I have mentioned it in the documentation.
Nov 30, 2009 at 8:50 PM

Thanks, I guess my confusion comes from that with unmanaged code some controls still have an AutomationId. Why is the default based on managed vs. unmanaged instead of controls having AutomationId vs not having AutomationId ?

Dec 2, 2009 at 7:49 PM

Is there any drawback using AutomationId with unmanaged code (when the AutomationId exists) as it seems better than using the text (name in UIA terminology) because it can be localized.

Coordinator
Dec 9, 2009 at 11:45 AM