Newbie (to White) questions

Jul 18, 2008 at 1:37 PM
I am new to this tool (just found it a couple days ago) and I am reviewing it to see if we can replace our existing automation tool.  Our application will be written in WPF with some WIN32 and WinForms screens just to make it fun.  I have been the lead automation developer for 10 years so I am not new to automation, just this tool.  Because of time limits I am hoping to get some help with the following questions.

1) Can wild cards be used when looking for a window name. Our app uses the same dialog for "Create Entity" as it does for "Modify Entity".  Is there a way to say Look for "* Entity" or a way to say "Create Entity" or "Modify Entity" when looking for the window.

2) We have some wizards that display different screens based on options selected.  In one case we may get screens 1,2,3,4,5 and in another run we may get screens 1,2,4,6,7.  Because we don't know what screens will appear is there a way to get the active window.

3) Depending on the amount of data in our app, some screens / processes can take an hour or more to complete.  During this time we may get error messages that pop-up.  Is there a way to wait for the process to complete and check for, record and clear error messages?  In our existing tools we will wait for a message box stating the process is done, while waiting for it, we check to see if there are any other message boxes displayed.  Sometimes these will kill the process other times they are just a reminder / warning.

4) Has anyone tried to use white and "talk" to a remote computer?  Our current tools can be used to control a remote system so I don't have to install the application under test on our automation development machines.  We also use this to do some multi user tests to sync the systems to perform a task at the same time etc.

Jul 20, 2008 at 6:12 PM
Thanks for your questions. I dont know white answers all these questions the way you want them to or not.